Lawrence, Kansas

University of Kansas MSW Programs

CSWE-accreditedSchool of Social WelfarePublic

What MSW Options Does University of Kansas Offer?

University of Kansas offers 2 MSW options, 1 of them online. It is CSWE-accredited. BSW graduates can enter with advanced standing (38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum)). Estimated tuition starts at $32,115.

2 MSW Options at University of Kansas

Specializations named on University of Kansas's pages: Clinical practice and Macro practice.

Admissions, Structure and Cost at University of Kansas

ProgramAdvanced standingField educationGREPublished tuition
Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina)Starts: Summer, Fall38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum), 1 year full time (summer, fall, spring); 2 years part timeTwo practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week in personLawrence and Edwards Campus (KU graduate tuition calculator, School of Social Welfare): Kansas residents $501.80 per credit hour base tuition plus $45 per credit hour school tuition; non-residents $1,176.10 plus $45; plus required student fee of $46.47 per credit hour and annual flat fees (calculator does not state the academic year). Salina (K-State partnership) courses: $495 per credit hour (school's 2025-2026 rate table)
Online Master of Social Work (Jayhawk Global)Starts: Summer, Fall38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum), 1 year full time; 2 years part time; summer startTwo in-person practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week$695 per credit hour, inclusive of all fees, regardless of residency status (2025-2026)

From University of Kansas's own program, admissions and tuition pages, reviewed September 30, 2026. Blank cells: the school's pages don't state that detail. Tuition changes each year; confirm fees with the school.

How University of Kansas Compares

University of Kansas's lowest estimated tuition, $32,115 for Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina), is below the national median of $40,180 (93rd lowest of 349 programs with an estimate). Its MSW requires 64 credits, against a national median of 60. It awarded 204 MSWs in 2022-23 (IPEDS), 1st of 5 in Kansas and 38th of 309 nationally among schools on this site.

University of KansasKansas medianU.S. median
Estimated tuition (lowest option)$32,115$32,886$40,180
Credits646360

Medians across programs on this site that publish the figure, September 2026. The MSW cost and loan calculator adds fees and federal loan limits.

Other Social Work Degrees at University of Kansas

Is University of Kansas's MSW CSWE Accredited?

University of Kansas's MSW is listed as accredited in the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) directory (September 2026). CSWE accredits the program, which covers every format the school offers it in. All CSWE-accredited MSW programs

Federal data (IPEDS) show University of Kansas awarded 204 MSWs in 2022-23.

From University of Kansas's MSW to a Kansas License

  1. Earn a CSWE-accredited MSW2 years full time, or about 1 with advanced standing
  2. Pass the ASWB exam (Masters)For the LMSW
  3. Log supervised clinical hours3,000 hours of post-graduate supervised clinical work experience in a …
  4. Earn the clinical license (LSCSW)Independent clinical practice

Kansas license tiers from its social work board · License pathway planner

Similar MSW Programs to Compare With University of Kansas

Online MSW programs at other CSWE-accredited schools, closest in estimated tuition:

University of Kansas MSW: Common Questions

Is University of Kansas's MSW CSWE Accredited?

University of Kansas's MSW is listed as accredited in the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) directory (September 2026). CSWE accredits the program, which covers every format the school offers it in.

Does University of Kansas Offer an Online MSW?

Yes. Online Master of Social Work (Jayhawk Global) is offered online.

Does University of Kansas Offer Advanced Standing?

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina): 38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum); 1 year full time (summer, fall, spring); 2 years part time; BSW from a CSWE-accredited program; 3.0 GPA or above preferred. Online Master of Social Work (Jayhawk Global): 38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum); 1 year full time; 2 years part time; summer start; BSW from a CSWE-accredited program.

How Much Does University of Kansas's MSW Cost?

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina): Lawrence and Edwards Campus (KU graduate tuition calculator, School of Social Welfare): Kansas residents $501.80 per credit hour base tuition plus $45 per credit hour school tuition; non-residents $1,176.10 plus $45; plus required student fee of $46.47 per credit hour and annual flat fees (calculator does not state the academic year). Salina (K-State partnership) courses: $495 per credit hour (school's 2025-2026 rate table) (about $32,115 for 64 credits, before fees). Online Master of Social Work (Jayhawk Global): $695 per credit hour, inclusive of all fees, regardless of residency status (2025-2026) (about $44,480 for 64 credits, before fees). Confirm current rates and fees with the school.

How Many Field Hours Does University of Kansas's MSW Require?

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina): Two practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week in person. Online Master of Social Work (Jayhawk Global): Two in-person practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week.

More MSW Programs in Kansas

Sources

  1. socwel.ku.edu: program, admissions and tuition pages, reviewed September 30, 2026
  2. Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), directory of accredited programs (September 2026)
  3. U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS completions 2022-23
  4. Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB)

Every program on this site was checked against the school's own website. Accreditation status comes only from the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) directory, license rules from each state's social work board, and graduate counts from the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS). Sponsored listings are labeled and never change which programs we list or how we rank them. How we verify programs