University of Kansas · Lawrence, Kansas

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina)

MSWCSWE-accreditedOn campus

What Should You Know About Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) at University of Kansas?

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) is a MSW program at University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, offered on campus. It requires 64 credit hours (36 classroom, 28 practicum) and takes 2 years full time; 3-4 years part time. At $502 per credit, estimated tuition is $32,115 before fees (resident rate). BSW graduates can enter with advanced standing (38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum)). University of Kansas's MSW is listed as accredited in CSWE's directory (September 2026); the accreditation covers this format.

Program Details

DegreeMSW
Formaton campus
Part timeOffered
Credits64 credit hours (36 classroom, 28 practicum)
Length2 years full time; 3-4 years part time
Advanced standing38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum); 1 year full time (summer, fall, spring); 2 years part time; BSW from a CSWE-accredited program; 3.0 GPA or above preferred
Field educationTwo practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week in person
Start termsSummer, Fall
TuitionLawrence and Edwards Campus (KU graduate tuition calculator, School of Social Welfare): Kansas residents $501.80 per credit hour base tuition plus $45 per credit hour school tuition; non-residents $1,176.10 plus $45; plus required student fee of $46.47 per credit hour and annual flat fees (calculator does not state the academic year). Salina (K-State partnership) courses: $495 per credit hour (school's 2025-2026 rate table)
SpecializationsClinical practice; Macro practice

From socwel.ku.edu, reviewed September 30, 2026. Check start dates, deadlines and current tuition with the school before you apply.

How This Program Compares

  • Estimated tuition of $32,115 is the 93rd lowest of 349 MSW programs on this site with an estimate (median $40,180).
  • Its 64 credits compare with a median of 60.
  • Advanced standing drops 26 credits, about $13,047 in tuition at the published rate.

Estimate the full cost and federal loan coverage for this program

After This MSW: The Kansas License Path

  1. Earn a CSWE-accredited MSW2 years full time, or about 1 with advanced standing
  2. Pass the ASWB exam (Masters)For the LMSW
  3. Log supervised clinical hours3,000 hours of post-graduate supervised clinical work experience in a …
  4. Earn the clinical license (LSCSW)Independent clinical practice

Kansas license tiers from its board. Online students licensed in another state follow that state's board.

Other MSW Options at University of Kansas

Similar MSW Programs at Other Schools

Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina): Common Questions

How Much Does Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) at University of Kansas Cost?

Lawrence and Edwards Campus (KU graduate tuition calculator, School of Social Welfare): Kansas residents $501.80 per credit hour base tuition plus $45 per credit hour school tuition; non-residents $1,176.10 plus $45; plus required student fee of $46.47 per credit hour and annual flat fees (calculator does not state the academic year). Salina (K-State partnership) courses: $495 per credit hour (school's 2025-2026 rate table). That works out to about $32,115 for 64 credits, before fees. Tuition changes each year; confirm fees and total cost with University of Kansas.

How Long Is Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina)?

64 credit hours (36 classroom, 28 practicum), 2 years full time; 3-4 years part time, according to the school's program page.

Does Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) Offer Advanced Standing?

Yes. 38 credit hours (24 classroom, 14 practicum); 1 year full time (summer, fall, spring); 2 years part time; BSW from a CSWE-accredited program; 3.0 GPA or above preferred.

How Many Field Hours Does Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) Require?

Two practicum placements (28 credit hours), at least 16 hours per week in person, according to the school's program page.

Is Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) CSWE Accredited?

University of Kansas's MSW is listed as accredited in CSWE's directory (September 2026); the accreditation covers this format.

Compare Programs Like This One

Sources

  1. socwel.ku.edu: Master of Social Work (Lawrence, KU Edwards Campus and K-State Salina) program page, reviewed September 30, 2026
  2. CSWE, directory of accredited programs (September 2026)

Every program on this site was checked against the school's own website. Accreditation status comes only from the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) directory, license rules from each state's social work board, and graduate counts from the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS). Sponsored listings are labeled and never change which programs we list or how we rank them. How we verify programs